Tags

, , , , , ,

Plum and Coconut Fruit LeatherI wasn’t a big fan of stone fruits growing up, and who could blame me given that my exposure had been limited to canned yellow cling peaches in heavy syrup. But last year, I tried fresh nectarines from the farmers’ market for the first time. WOW! I had been missing out! I’ve since expanded my stone-fruit palate, and I can say without a doubt, that plums and pluots are THEE fruit of this summer for me. So, lucky me when a cooler started acting up at work (I’m now a part-time baker at the local food co-op) and I was granted a boon of these luscious fruits.

Plum and Coconut Fruit Leather

This recipe makes use of an Excalibur dehydrator, but I’m sure you could use an oven on low to get reasonably similar results. I’ve never made fruit leathers in an oven, so if you do try this recipe, feel free to leave a comment about the time/temperature you used and how they turned out.

Ingredients:

1 pound (roughly) of various plums and/or pluots (I cut up enough to fill the vitamin to the top)

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon cardamom

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

dash of ground clove

2/3 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut

Plum and Coconut Fruit Leather

Add fruit, vanilla extract, and spices to high speed blender, and blend until smooth. Add shredded coconut, and blend until mixed. Cover your dehydrator trays with a dehydrator sheet (like these). Use 1/3 of a cup of the mix for each roll, pouring much like you would for a pancake; each tray fits four. Using an offset spatula, spread your pancake out into an oblong shape (they roll up rather elegantly this way).

Plum and Coconut Fruit LeatherDehydrate at 105 degrees for 8-12 hours, until they are no longer sticky and easily peel off. I did mine overnight; they were perfect after about 10 hours. Roll up and store in an airtight container. Makes about 15-20 rolls.

Everyone in my family–baby, picky child, and adults–loved these. They are a little tart, a little sweet, and very toothsome. I’ve had to ration them out or they would have all been devoured within a day.

Cia eats Plum and Coconut Fruit LeatherIn other news, Vegan Month of Food is starting in September, and I will be attempting to post 5 days a week! I’m really excited about it being bumped up a month as there will be a lot more on offer at the farmers’ market (not that I don’t love posting tons of winter squash recipes, but variety is nice). I’ll be focusing on gluten-free and whole foods, some vegan baby food recipes and tips, and updating my cookbook reviews. Any specific content you would like to see? Leave a comment and I’ll see what I can do!

 

 

