Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The internet doesn’t really need another generic Instagram-filled blog post, but I still haven’t quite mastered the photo editing software on my new computer. Also I didn’t manage to pick up my real camera at all last week, something I plan on rectifying this weekend. Highlights

From top left: Cia eating fist after fist of avocados and Hillary’s Adzuki Bean Burger; my favorite tulip in the yard finally bloomed; last minute cupcakes for the Fun Fair tonight made with Duncan Hines dark chocolate fudge cake mix subbing flax for eggs and apple sauce for oil (not healthy, but quick and vegan); a bizarre toy that I stepped on in Miette’s room; “pizza pasta” (recipe below); making forts out of sheets; WHAT!?! Vegan Cheddar puffs!?!; My beasts in front of the bluebells; and Miette enjoying the local flora.

Pizza Noodles - Gluten Free, Grain Free, Vegan

Those “pizza noodle” turned out to be a big hit with Miette (and me, too!), and are a great way to sneak in some extra veggies. This recipe used some left-over pizza sauce I had in my fridge, making it a meal that takes less than 30 minutes to throw together. These measurements are all pretty rough and very forgiving, but the following makes approximately 4 servings:

1 handful cremini mushrooms, roughly chopped

6-8 leaves of kale, de-stemmed and chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 zucchini – spiralized (or, it you don’t have a spiralizer, try cutting it into very thin “noodles”)

1/2 a jar of pizza sauce or marinara sauce

Warm oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add mushrooms and kale, cover and cook for five minutes. Add garlic, cook covered and additional five minutes, stirring a couple of times. When mushrooms are tender add zucchini “noodles” and continue to cook uncovered for approximately five minutes, taking care not to over-cook the zucchini (they should remain somewhat crisp, replicating an al dente pasta texture). Add pizza sauce and stir to combine. Cook until warmed through, and serve immediately.

Tomorrow kicks off our Farmers Market here  in town, and the Common Ground Food Co-op is having their annual plant sale to benefit their Food for All program. Miki and I plan on spending our day gardening and munching on asparagus. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

 

