Tags

, , , , , ,

Mushroom, Leek, and Potato Soup

My love of starchy vegetables runs deep. Far deeper than I would like, but even when I was a child of 9 and first became a vegetarian, I was certain it meant life would become an all-you-can-eat french fry and chocolate party, and old habits die hard. As a side note, my mother caught on quickly and was having none of that– she sent me straight to the nutrition section of the library and made me research a proper nutrition plan before she would let me progress. Last month I cut out fried potatoes because for the past year they have been my go-to stress food, and seven months after Ciaran’s birth, I’m confronting the fact that it’s not baby weight any more; it’s poor diet/lifestyle/coping mechanism weight. In the spirit of moderation, I’ve crafted a recipe that allows for a bit of my comfort food with a wealth of satisfying flavor while remaining leaps and bounds healthier than my previous crutch. It only takes about 30 minutes to put together, and it can be made chunky or creamy!

Mushroom, Leek, and Potato Soup

Mushroom, Leek, and Potato Soup

Makes 6-8 servings

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups (about 1&1/2 lbs.) red potatoes, cut into small cubes (peel if desired, I’m a leave-the-skin-on type of woman)
  • 2 cups leeks, chopped
  • 1 cup cremini mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt, more to taste if desired
  • 1 teaspoon pepper, more to taste if desired
  • 4&1/2 cups water

Warm the oil in a stock pot over medium heat and add the potatoes, leeks, mushrooms, and onions. Cover and allow veggies to sweat for about five minutes, stirring a couple of times. Add garlic, and allow to continue to sweat over medium heat for five more minutes. Add water and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, and allow to simmer 10-15 minutes, until potatoes are tender. Serve immediately for a chunky, brothy soup (my preferred method), or transfer to blender and blend for 30 seconds or so to create a creamy version (Miette and Casey prefer it this way).

Mushroom, Leek, and Potato SoupSo savory, so umami, and ultimately way more satisfying fries. Take that, emotional eating! I hope everyone is enjoying their Monday; I’m taking comfort in the fact that our Spring Break is a week away, and that means getting down and dirty in the garden with my girl.

 

