Tags

, , ,

Today the family packed up and ventured back to my birth place of Normal, IL for Miette’s final day of an art class at Illinois State University. After sitting through a presentation and visiting the classroom to collect some very treasured works of art, we were pretty hungry and happy to dine at the Garlic Press Market Café. When I was a teenager, there was no café, just the store, which sells all manner of kitchen knick knacks, fancy pantry items like sauces, mustards, and jams, and the sort of cookware I used to find disgustingly flamboyant and overpriced–status symbols for the Stepford set–which I can’t deny I’ve begun to covet (*Sigh* Le Creuset, why you so expensive and dazzling?). Oy, that’s a harsh revelation. But back to lunch! The Garlic Press does a wonderful job of stocking their café with a wide variety of vegan, and even vegan and gluten-free, items! I decided to go with the soup of the day: Chunky Red Lentil with Chickpeas & Ginger (GF), while Miki settled on a PB&J, and Casey got a couple of dolmas (GF) and a muffaletta sandwich. Ciaran was also very hungry at this point, so I was too busy navigating his feeding and my own to snap too many photos of the food. Even so, here is my soup, which was delicious!

It was a little pricey, with our total for one bowl of soup, two sandwiches, two dolmas (which were very reasonably priced at 2 for  $1), and three drinks (one soda, one juice, and one coffee) hitting nearly $25, and the sandwiches only came with a pickle on the side.

And just because I can, here’s a pic of the delightful little artist at work, and one of me wearing the baby, because baby wearing is really about the most convenient thing in the history of babies (Who pulled off public nursing without hands and without anyone being any the wiser? That’s right, this mom!).

