Tags

, ,

My dad is a real meat and potatoes kind of guy, and he’s suffered the heart attack to prove it. When I became a vegetarian in my grammar school days, he tried to sneak meat into dishes so often that I began refusing to eat anything he had a hand in preparing or serving. And while he may have believed he was doing so out of concern for my health, now the tables have turned, and I am the one sneaking meat-free dishes onto his plate. Okay, not so much sneaking as stating outright, “If you are coming over for dinner, it will be vegan, and I will make sure you love it.”

One of my dad’s favorite dishes is pot roast. I dusted off the slow cooker (I really, really need to remember to use that thing more often!), bought a few packages of Gardein Beefless Tips, and just sort of… well, I’d never made any sort of pot roast, so I ran off of instinct. The picture below is actually of the leftovers the next day, so they look more like beef stew, as the veggies absorbed a considerable amount of the broth in their overnight stay in the fridge. The original dish is less stew-like, and I served it using a slotted spoon. But I forgot to take pictures, so there you have it.

Ingredients (this was likely enough to serve 12, and it makes fantastic leftovers):

3 packages of  Gardein Beefless Tips

5 carrots, cut into 1 to 1 1/2 in chunks

5 ribs of celery, cut into 1 to 1 1/2 inch chunks

4 medium-sized potatoes (I used red potatoes), quartered

1 large onion, diced

1 26.5 ounce package of Pomi chopped tomatoes (feel free to sub canned diced tomatoes, but I highly recommend this brand)

2 cups vegetable broth, heated

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 teaspoon dried rosemary

salt and pepper to taste

Method:

Begin by heating olive oil in a large skillet over medium-low heat. Sautée onions for about five minutes, and then add carrots and celery. Continue to sautée for five more minutes. Add veggie mix and the rest of the ingredients to slow cooker. Cook on high setting for 3-4 hours, until veggies are tender.

I’m pretty proud of this dish, as my father found it up to snuff and he has balked at every veggie burger and faux-sausage I’ve ever presented him. This would be great as a holiday dish, as it is incredibly toothsome and filling, and would please herbivores and omnis alike. I’ll post my super easy mushroom gravy recipe tomorrow!

