Tags

, , , ,

I picked up Blissful Bites by Christy Morgan a few months ago. This cookbook is really lovely: it is packed to the gills with wonderful photography and it is organized by dish, and then those are organized by season. This makes finding recipes with ingredients that will be available at the local co-op a breeze, and the focus on whole foods means not having to hunt down obscure ingredients, which is where a lot of gluten-free or diet cookbooks lose me. I’m trying to develop an arsenal of healthy, easy recipes as I know the battle to get rid of the baby weight shall soon be upon me (side note: Ciaran is 2 months old as of yesterday!), and this book fits the bill perfectly.

Miette can be a picky eater. She’s grown a lot over the past year, and will try almost anything without a fight, but finding dishes she actually enjoys that aren’t in the nut butter and jam canon is a difficult task. With one exception: the girl loves a good soup, especially blended soups. We settled on the Curried Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup, and I’m thrilled to say that she loved it! I served this up with Daiya cheddar grilled cheeses on oat bread and a salad filled with heirloom tomatoes, French breakfast radishes (my favorite!), cucumbers, and sprouted pumpkin seeds with flax oil and apple cider vinegar dressing. I refrained from indulging in a grilled cheese, but according to Miette, it was really delicious and perfect for dipping in the soup. The soup was a touch spicy, slightly cinnamon-scented, and ultimately very hearty and warming. It’s gluten free as well. I won’t share the recipe here, because it isn’t my own, but I recommend checking out Christy Morgan’s site, and giving this cookbook a spot on your shelf.

I used Japanese sweet potatoes because they were available and I had never had them. The skin is such a dark red, I was really surprised to find that the flesh was so pale. Even so, they were delicious.

Those Go Raw spouted pumpkin seeds get tossed on everything. They are a really tasty way to add a nutritional punch to almost anything and are delicious on their own as a slightly salty, crunchy snack.

You know you’ve become a bona fide grown-up when you’ve repurposed your shot glasses to hold single servings of salad dressings!

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

