Tags

, , ,

Oh, how I used to despise granola. The word alone would conjure up images of unwashed hippies, coated in a slick of patchouli oil, lined up at a trough, crunching away. Of course, as fate would have it, I’m now one of the crunchiest folks I know. And my breakfast of choice these days? Yep. Granola with yogurt. I’ve resigned myself to the fact that juggling a school-aged child and a newborn baby, and still trying to hit the snooze button as much as possible means never having a hot breakfast. Besides, hot breakfasts can be dangerous when eaten over a nursing infant. Lucky for me, I managed to find possibly the most delicious non-dairy yogurt in existence and an equally delicious granola.

Somehow, some way, the folks that make Amande* managed a soy-free, gluten-free, non-gmo, fruit-sweetened glory of a vegan yogurt, made out of cultured almond milk. While most of the flavors are pretty decent, I live for the coconut. It’s sweet, and the coconut flavor isn’t over-powering. And it goes perfectly with Purely Elizabeth Pumpkin Fig Granola. I wound up grabbing this because it was on sale, and it was the first granola I had ever liked fallen in love with. I went on to try other brands, thinking my long-standing moratorium on granola could be lifted. I was wrong. My heart belongs only to this granola, and rather than write my own devotional poem, I’ll just give you the blurb about it from their website:

Made with all natural, organic and gluten-free nutritious ingredients, including: quinoa, an ancient grain considered a complete protein; amaranth, high in b vitamins; chia seeds- providing excellent sources of omega-3 fatty acids, fiber and antioxidants; and raw virgin coconut oil containing medium-chain fatty acids that get used as energy rather than stored as fat – plus anti-viral + anti-microbial properties.

All that, and it tastes amazing! So there you have it, the secret to my success: get butt out of bed, dump tub of yogurt in bowl, top with granola, and magically transition from grumbling ogre to shiny, happy human being.

*Any reviews that appear on this site are not sponsored, and reflect my actual opinions and experiences.

 

 

