Tags

, ,

Happy October! This is my favorite time of year: the food becomes heartier, the weather is perfect for snuggling, and the autumnal colors bring back so many fond memories. This October I’m participating in Vegan MoFo, and I’m going to attempt to transform myself into a Monday-Friday blogger for the month. If I succeed I just may have to reward myself with a fancy new t-shirt from Herbivore.

As the seasons change my immune system generally takes a bit of a hit. Last week I came down with a stomach bug that left me yearning for nutrients on a cellular level and no doubt wiped out some of my good intestinal flora. Enter a super healing veggie miso soup, to bring me back up to speed!

Healing Veggie Miso Soup

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

3 celery stalks, cut into bite-sized pieces (I like my soup chunky, but cut to your preferred size)

2 carrots, cut into bite-sized pieces

1 red potato, cut into bite-sized pieces

1/2 cup bok choy, chopped

1/4 teaspoon dried thyme

1/4 teaspoon salt (optional)

6 cups water or vegetable broth, or some combination of the two; I had 2 cups of veggie broth leftover from another dish, so I used that with 4 cups of water. Note: if you use water, add about 1/4 teaspoon of salt, or to taste

3 tablespoons miso paste; I used barley miso, which has a very rich flavor, but any miso will do and this dish is gluten free as long as your miso is!

Method:

Heat oil in a large stock pot. Add onions and sautée for five minutes. Add carrots, celery, and potatoes. Sautée for five more minutes. Add liquids, thyme, and salt if using and bring to a boil; turn down heat and simmer for 10 minutes, or until veggies are tender. Add bok choy and simmer for an additional minute or two. Prepare miso by transferring a few tablespoons of broth to a small dish and mixing with the miso to create a thick paste. Turn off heat and stir in miso mixture to combine (boiling the miso kills the enzymes, which are a very valuable component of the healing power of this dish, so don’t forget to turn off the heat!). Serve with salt and pepper to taste, and get well!

(There is no denying that, sick or well, I am indeed a fresh cracked pepper addict)

