Tags

,

The Autumn Rob Roy

Happy Friday everyone! I am pleased to report that this week’s IF went splendidly and resulted in a delightful twist on a classic cocktail, perfect for those upcoming chilly autumn eves. First, though, here is one incredibly easy recipe for Smoky, Spicy Cinnamon Bitters (adapted from a Bust article I read a year ago, that I have since lost):

2 cups vodka

2 dried chipotle peppers

1 cinnamon stick

6 black peppercorns

Combine ingredients in a mason jar and store for two weeks, shaking daily (or whenever you remember). After two weeks, use a nut milk bag (or cheese cloth, but my nut milk bag worked perfectly for this) to strain. TA-DA! So simple! Onto the cocktail recipe. A Rob Roy is just a Manhattan made with scotch instead of rye.

2 oz. scotch (I like Johnnie Walker Black)

1/4 oz. sweet vermouth

a couple of dashes of the bitters

Use an Old-Fashioned glass, fill with ice, pour ingredients over ice, and stir.  This can also be served up, in which case, put all ingredients into a shaker (including ice), shake, and strain into a chilled martini glass. Traditional Rob Roys and Manhattans are garnished with a cherry, but I usually skip them. If you wanted to add a pretty garnish, I would recommend an orange twist to compliment the cinnamon in this. And there you have it, you’ve made an Autumn Rob Roy!

I’m jetting back North again this weekend, to celebrate the marriage of a dear friend. I hope you all have a lovely weekend as well!

 

 

 

 

