Tags

, , , ,

As a newly-minted mother-of-two, one of which happens to be in kindergarten as of Tuesday, I find myself completely exhausted and struggling to check everything off of my seemingly endless to-do list. Luckily, I’ve stumbled across a few new recipes that are quick and easy, and lend themselves to being tossed in a tiffin and taken on the go. So, here is a lazy post filled with links!

Kale Slaw with Red Cabbage and Carrots – This is the easiest to make and took all of about 5 minutes to put together, but it does get more flavorful if left overnight in the fridge, so keep that in mind. Bonus discovery: when trying to throw together a quick lunch out of left-overs, I tossed this with some very spicy  tofu & veggie pad kra praow lard khao from Basil Thai, and it was so amazing that I actually bought the dish again this week, not even bothering with rice, just to throw it on top of the rest of the left-overs!

Quinoa Salad with Toasted Almonds – This smelled so delicious while I was cooking it that I was a bit concerned that it may not make it to lunch the next day. I refrained from devouring it, minus a small sample of course, and I am really glad I did! This salad was fantastic chilled, and even held up well in Casey’s (unrefrigerated) lunch box. I should mention that I completely skipped toasting the almonds, as I was out of almonds, and instead just threw in some raw cashews at the end. This saved me a lot of time and energy, and I’m not sure that toasting the nuts would have made this dish any tastier.

My ultimate I’m-in-a-rush-and-must-eat-now meal? Peanut butter with sprouted pumpkin seeds and microgreens on wheat bread. I eat this every. single. day. And it never gets old! Sprouted pumpkin seeds are available at Common Ground, and while they are expensive, a little goes a long way and they pack quite a nutritional punch.

My new favorite!

Miki also enjoys a variation on this as a meal, although she doesn’t like it all just piled up on a piece of bread like I do.

Nutritious, enjoyed by a 5 year-old and no cooking required! Life is grand!

Currently, I’m cooking up a more labor-intensive recipe while the baby snoozes: Eggplant Jam. If this goes well, I have every intention of stocking up on all manner of eggplant at the Market tomorrow and making large batches of this, as well as my roasted eggplant spread/pizza sauce. Also, don’t forget that the Sweetcorn Festival starts tonight!

