Tags

, , , , , ,

Slightly impractical but nevertheless fun kitchen tool: the spiral slicer

The summer squash and tomatoes are in abundance at the local market, and while Casey and I had taken to roasting ratatouille or making marinara sauces in the past, I just don’t feel like slaving over a hot stove these days. So, for the first time this year, I pulled out that spiralizerI bought on a whim last summer, washed off the dust, and set about crafting a batch of raw “noodles.” While I had intended to make a tomato sauce, I recalled the giant bag of raw cashews I had sitting in my fridge, and my gaze shifted to the bunch of basil we picked up from Blue Moon Farms. Yes, pesto. THAT is what I wanted.

Pesto, meet noodles.

Noodles, meet pesto.

Raw Cashew Pesto

1/2 cup raw cashews, soaked at least two hours, but up to overnight

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 cup chopped basil

2-5 cloves garlic, depending on your tolerance for raw garlic (I used about four, but Casey loooves garlicky flavors)

1-2 tablespoons lemon juice

I also threw in a drizzle of balsamic vinegar, and salt and pepper to taste

Put all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until desired consistency is reached. I used my high speed blender and got a very creamy sauce, but if you want something chunkier, I recommend pulsing in a food processor. Let sit in fridge for at least an hour so the flavors can blend. I tossed my sauce with my squash noodles, tomatoes, and kalamata olives for a truly delicious and easy dinner. Casey and I agree, the only thing that would have made this meal better would have been having some of the Mediterranean flax crackers on hand to sop up the excess sauce. Next time!

I was so proud of my fresh, raw, made-from-scratch meal, I even added garnish!

