I’ve been behind on posting these days, and honestly, I’m expecting this blog to take a bit of a shift. Truth is, I’m exhausted. I’ve been eating some strange things lately. My tastes have gotten very specific, and at times, former favorites such as chickpeas and avocados have turned into nausea-inducing enemies. My budget had tightened, and my pants no longer fit. Yep, I’m pregnant! I’m also in my busiest semester to date, one in which I will finish my degree and present my first paper at my first international conference in my field. Because of all of this, I will likely be less active on this blog, and when I do I poke my head in, it may be a bit more family-centric than my previous posts. Even so, I will still try to put in posts about local restaurants and stores, and I promise to update at least monthly. So, what has this pregnant woman been craving?

Baby Bok Choy with Flax Oil and Ume Vinegar and Mustard Roasted Fingerlings

Aloo Gobi

Sauteed Kale and Cremini Mushrooms with Barley,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The bok choy recipe is from The Kind Diet, the potato recipe is my own. If I find the note card I wrote the recipe down on, I swear I will post it, as these are the best fingerlings I’ve ever had! I blame pregnancy brain for the misplacement. The kale is Isa Chandra’s Garlicky Mushroom Kale recipe from Appetite for Reduction. The baked barley, which is terribly time-consuming but utterly delicious, was swiped from the Cooking Light website, and veganized with Earth Balance instead of butter (I also skipped the shiitakes, for budget reasons). The aloo gobi was just a mix of maybe four or five recipes I browsed online, veganized and seasoned until I felt satisfied. It was so spicy, which has been endlessly appealing to me during this pregnancy, and very helpful with nausea. I’ve made it a few times, and I just go with whatever feels right. Might not be authentic, but it is completely satisfying. Next time I will write it down.

Additionally, there was recently a book released by Sayward Rebhal of Bonzai Aphrodite that has not left my side. The Vegan Pregnancy Survival Guide is just chocked full of great info on nutrition, and I highly recommend it. I bought mine all the way back in September, and read it immediately, well before I came across those two pink lines.

