Tags

, ,

Super Summery Flavors!

Having lived in Central Illinois my entire life, this time of year my mouth just naturally begins to salivate at the very thought of sweet corn. It’s in my blood, and I don’t think I’m  alone. Urbana even has a yearly Sweet Corn Festival every August. When the first ears rolled into my home, I could barely contain myself. I realized that this would be my first butter-less corn adventure, and rather than just slapping on some Earth Balance (which I’m sure would still be delicious), I wanted to try something a little more inspired. While perusing through my vegan blog-roll (which I promise I will get around to sharing in a side-bar in the near future), I came across a citrus-and-miso-based dressing recipe at Little House of Veggies. I had almost all of the ingredients on hand; I lacked an orange, so I just subbed an extra lime. It came out wonderfully creamy, and I knew the tangy citrus would work wonderfully with my beloved sweet corn, as well as the zucchini and squash I had picked up at the Farmers’ Market.

Lime-miso Dressing

In addition to corn, the tomatoes this time of year are also delicious and bountiful, so I took advantage by whipping up a funky salsa with a mango, red pepper, onion, tomato, cilantro, and lime juice. I would have added a jalapeño, but the kiddo is not into the spicy foods yet. My daughter falls head-over-heals for breaded anything, so we added some of Sophie’s Kitchen vegan fish fillets (available at Common Ground), cooked in the toaster oven due to the oppressive Midwestern heat.

Mango Salsa

The results were a wildly festive and flavorful dinner for my husband and me, and a slightly toned-down version for my daughter, who opted for cantaloupe after trying a bit of the salsa with quinoa and blue corn chips.

Not as colorful, but still a tasty hit!

Vegan "fish" fillet topped with mango salsa

